Rukiye – Harmony

Rukiye – Harmony

RUKIYE – album “Harmony” (14 July 2022, Spider Music)

  1. Blowing My Mind
  2. Fly
  3. Free
  4. I Believe
  5. Incomplete
  6. My Love
  7. Second Change
  8. Santorini

Rukiye’s newest work, entitled “Harmony”, was released a few days ago, exclusively by the Spider Music. Now, if you never had heard of Rukiye before you will find out that she is a stunning singer, one that can deliver a lyric with a soft, soothing voice or hit you with passion and  defiant emotion. The “Harmony” is truly a great album.

Most of the lyrics in the album are written by Giorgos Hondralis, showcasing his immense lyrical talent along with his poetic yet not tiresomely poetically abstract view on life. Rukiye’s stunning voice combined with his lyrical talent, produce an astonishing result. Her vocal performance elevates each song, charging emotionally the ballads and making the upbeat songs so vibrantly sounding that you can’t possibly feel anything else but a sense of euphoria while listening to the album.

As for the music, which is composed by a team of absolutely creative and gifted musicians at the Orange Studios, there are not much to say except that it was, almost, flawless. A mix of the upbeat 80’s disco, with funky influences, house-beats, 80’s AOR rock and a lot of synths for texture, all structured beautifully upon a pop basis create the musical outline of the “Harmony”.

I don’t think that I can describe properly how much I enjoyed listening to the “Harmony”. It was a completely different experience from what I was listening to lately, and its light and graceful style it was delightful. Catchy choruses, beautiful melodies and especially the disco vibes, made me to fall in love with the record. The “Blowing My Mind” with its funky and disco basis is the perfect opening track, while songs like the “Santorini” and the “Fly” will fill you with a sense of hopefulness and summer-vibes.

Concluding, the “Harmony” is a record that you don’t want to miss. Elegant, upbeat, with feel-good songs and powerful ballads, the newest work of Rukiye is without a doubt one of the most enjoyable records that I have listened so far in 2022.

Review by Mr Athens 79

Rükiye | Blowing my mind | Official Audio Release