My Octopus Mind

My Octopus Mind

The second studio album ‘Faulty At Source’ from psych-rockers My Octopus Mind, released today.

The album takes a full throttle look at the current political and social climate in the UK. Lyrically exploring disillusionment with capitalism, climate denial and the UK’s inability to take responsibility for it’s colonial past.

Bristol-based experimental three-piece My Octopus Mind have just released their latest track ‘Hindenburg’.

 Since their conception in 2017, the band have developed a wild form of experimental rock using balkan rhythms mixed with heavy psychedelic post-punk, wonky riffs and moments of haunting grace. All of this is delivered with a subversive approach to songwriting at its heart.

 Recorded with Jake Bright at Bristol’s Christchurch Studios (known for sessions with Van Morrison, PJ Harvey, Butch Vig and Massive Attack), and mastered at Invada Studios with James Trevascus, Hindenburg  is a tragic farewell – a heartfelt departure.

The intro contains samples from the live radio broadcast of the Hindenburg disaster. Churning from the depths, Hindenburg climaxes with a raucous and silly ending, giving it a strong sense of “Woah, we made it”. The lyrics were a stream of consciousness also seeming to make a subtle backhand at white supremacy. When connected to the Hindenburg it all seemed to slot into place. Think Led Zeppelin into Tera Melos with a heavy dose of All Them Witches.

Hindenburg is released today and is available on all major platforms.

Liam O’Connell – Guitar/Vocals
Isaac Ellis – Double Bass
Oliver Cocup – Drums


My Octopus Mind – Hindenburg

My Octopus Mind – Wandering Eye (feat. Rebecca Shelley)

My Octopus Mind – The Greatest Escape

My Octopus Mind – Buy My Book

My Octopus Mind – Rusty Spoon

My Octopus Mind
Band/Artist location – Bristol England
WebsiteFacebook – You TubeSoundcloudBandcampTwitter –
Instagram – ItunesSpotify  – AmazonDeezerGoogle Play