Marjana Semkina

Marjana Semkina

With Marjana Semkina, Iamthemorning’s lyricist, singer and co-songwriter, set to release Sleepwalking her mesmerising debut solo album, on 14th February 2020 through Kscope, she has premiered a new track “Turn Back Time”.

Marjana explains the song’s creation “This is one of the songs that pretty much wrote itself – one minute I’m starting to play something and I don’t know what will it lead to, the next I have a finished song on my hands. I’m very happy with the contribution of all musicians on this one – what started as a simple acoustic guitar song ended up being a rather energetic and upbeat listen. I’ve been waiting for an opportunity to work with Craig Blundell and Nick Beggs for quite some time and I’m really happy that they found time in their busy schedule to play for me.”

Sleepwalking is a musical blend akin to the darker folk of Aldous Harding, Marissa Nadler, Sumie and Florist. To aid her vision for Sleepwalking, Marjana invited renowned keyboardist, drummer and bassist Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater), Craig Blundell and Nick Beggs (Steven Wilson), as well as the St. Petersburg Orchestra “1703” and frequent collaborator Vlad Avy. With the stunning album artwork referencing Semkina’s love for classical art, blending photography with the 17th-Century Vanitas movement.
Characterised by Marjana’s composed and unique voice, complex melodic lines and poetic lyrics with literary references, Sleepwalking draws from the Iamthemorning soundscape but exists fully in her world; a compelling mixture of alternative folk, pop, drama, beauty and emotionally purging lyrics.
Marjana explains the motivation behind the solo album “I wanted to use Sleepwalking as a way to translate emotions in the most sincere and unrefined way. No sugarcoating, no filters, just creative, honest thought caught in the moment. Turning those dark times and feelings into pure creative energy, something beautiful, something that has purpose”

Sleepwalking is available to PRE-ORDER HERE on CD / LP and digitally (with “Turn Back Time” and “Everything Burns” available as an instant download on digital pre-orders). Note to fans – Sleepwalking will be released under an alternative spelling – Mariana Semkina. 

Sleepwalking tracklisting

  1. Dark Matter
  2. Am I Sleeping Or Am I Dead
  3. Turn Back Time
  4. Ars Longa Vita Brevis
  5. Invisible
  6. Lost At Sea
  7. Skin
  8. How To Be Alone
  9. Everything Burns
  10. Mermaid Song
  11. Still Life

Mariana Semkina – Turn Back Time

Mariana Semkina – Everything Burns


Marjana Semkina links:
Band/Artist location – St Petersburg Russia
Facebook – You TubeSoundcloudBandcampMerchPatreonTwitter –
InstagramAmazon – Google PlayLast Fm