Icelandic rock band KAVORKA will release their new album “Internal Rituals” on vinyl this March. Although not a concept album, its main lyrical theme is mental illness and substance abuse.

The album has  previously been available in digital formats and can be heard here:

More information will be available soon.

Kavorka is an Icelandic rock band formed in the bleak midwinter of 2016. 

The members of the band are no strangers to the Icelandic music scene, having performed and gained some recognition with their former bands Moldun and Embrace the Plague, respectively. When those two bands broke up, guitarist and vocalist Sæþór Þórðarson, lead vocalist and lyricist Haukur Már Guðmundsson, bassist Arnar M. Ellertsson and drummer Haukur Þór Finnbogason united and formed Kavorka. Having been in metal bands since they were teenagers they wanted to expand their horizons with this new project, making simpler, more approachable, straight forward rock music.

In 2017 Kavorka released their first demo. It included four songs and was recorded live in their rehearsal space, with the idea of making it as raw and real as possible. Therefore the songs were not edited and no mistakes were left out. That same year the band played a few local shows, sharing the stage with Icelandic stoner rock giants Brain Police and at the legendary Eistnaflug festival, which is the biggest rock and metal festival in Iceland.

In late 2018 Kavorka began recording their debut full length album. This time they entered a real studio and hired producer Leifur Örn Kaldal to help them achieve the sound they were going for.

In October 2019 the band released their first studio album, titled “Internal Rituals.” Although not a concept album, its main lyrical theme is mental illness and substance abuse. The album has been very well received and the band has continued performing locally to promote it.

As of 2020, Kavorka have already begun writing songs for their sophomore album, and are hoping to hit the studio again before the year ends.

Kavorka is:
Sæþór Þórðarson – Guitar, vocals
Haukur Már Guðmundsson – Lead vocals
Arnar M. Ellertsson – Bass
Haukur Þór Finnbogason – Drums

Kavorka – BLACK HALO


Kavorka links: 
Band/Artist location – Reykjavík Iceland
Facebook – You Tube – Bandcamp – 
Instagram – ItunesSpotifyAmazonDeezerGoogle Play – Last Fm