Phoenix-based dream-electronic artist FLDPLN presents the ‘Escalator’ album, loaded with electronic-based dreampop deeply influenced by 80s pop with shoegaze-like textures and an ambient aesthetic, created by layered saxophones and synths.

FLDPLN (“field-plan”) is the solo project of Andrew Saks, former frontman of Southern California shoegaze band Sway. A short time after they split, Andrew put down the guitar to return to his first love – the saxophone – which he has played from the age of 12. Largely electronic, FLDPLN concocts dreamy, blissfully textural songs featuring synthesizers, vocals and layered saxophones.

Preceded by initial singles ‘Escalator’ and  ‘Aliso’, this long-player was written, produced, recorded and mixed by Andrew Saks at his home studio in Phoenix, Arizona. This follows up his 2018 album ‘Let You Down’ and his 2021 single ‘Cashout’, release in 2021.

“Escalator is really the result of my years of dabbling in electronic music production combined with my desire to reconnect with my roots, having been a saxophone player for most of my life,” says Andrew Saks.

“For this album, I wanted to write songs that are true to the way I hear things in my head, dreamy, blurry, beautiful without compromise and incorporate the horn as a textural instrument as well as another melodic voice.”

The idea behind FLDPLN was to incorporate Saks’ love for electronic music production and early 90’s post-punk sensibilities, while allowing saxophones and synthesizers to be used to fill-in texturally, where guitars have typically been the fundamental building element of the “shoegaze” and “dream pop” sub-genres.  Saxophone textures are layered, at times co-mingling with synthesizers to create a soft, warm bed of sound, the perfect backdrop for the whisper-like vocals reminiscent of Andrew’s hushed voice with Sway.

At times, Andrew’s horn playing features soaring leads that lift the dreamlike and serene to near-anthemic heights while, in other instances, they convey an emotional, whisper-like voice. While certainly nowhere near new to experimental music, the tone and texture of the saxophone in this context effectively lends itself to ethereal lullabies and reflective daydreams.

While textures and sound are an integral component of the music, Andrew does not shy away from hook-laden songwriting. This music is highly influenced by childhood memories of going to bed each night, falling asleep with Walkman headphones on and later waking up in the darkness, in a partial dream-state with the pop songs of the 1980’s – Pet Shop Boys, New Order, Bruce Springsteen, Lisa Lisa and Cult Jam, Debbie Gibson, Human League still whispering in his ears.

As of July 30, the ‘Escalator’ LP will be available via the Sillas Famosas label, through online stores such as Apple Music and streaming platforms like Spotify. The album can be pre-ordered via Bandcamp.

01. Escalator
02. Give You Everything
03. I Want To Talk About Love
04. Building Whisperer
05. Until You Don’t Have It Anymore (For Huell)
06. Aliso
07. Lost Her At Sea
08. How Much Do You Remember?
09. Metrocenter
10. So Much Time
11. Maybe This Is How It Ends

FLDPLN – Aliso

FLDPLN – Escalator

FLDPLN – Escalator Album Announcement

FLDPLN links:
Band/Artist location – Phoenix, AZ
You TubeSoundcloudBandcampTwitter