FIREWALKWITHME stream entire new album 

Austin’s FireWalkWithMe have teamed up with PureGrainAudio to stream the entirety of their new album The Eternal Black Rainbow which will be released this Friday. The band features Jason Reece from one of the city’s finest exports – …And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead.

Listen to the album in full here:

FireWalkWithMe are no ordinary band; they are a group of musicians reborn with a passion to create truly earth-shaking rock music. The Eternal Black Rainbow is bursting with bright colors and textures, counterweighted by lyrics discussing dark and foreboding themes such as mortality, afterlife and being swallowed by the ocean. You may have seen those involved in FireWalkWithMe before, but not like this.

So, who’s involved? Four of Austin’s finest: songwriter Ricardo Mendez and Jason Westbrook have been repping the Austin music scene via one of the heaviest bands in the last decade, High Watt Crucifixers. Westbrook met Christian Kyle, meanwhile, in CMJ Top 20 band Schatzi. This is all tied together by drumming legend Jason Reece from one of the city’s finest exports – …And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead. Drawing from their rich history, the group deftly weave alt-rock and art-rock, noise and nuance, punk and poise, into nine songs that show exceptional depth in both their construction and performance.

Naturally, The Eternal Black Rainbow would not sound as grandiose as it does without the band’s self-styled “5th Beatle”: recording engineer Charles Godfrey (Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Swans, Beach House), whose guidance was essential to striking the right balance in the mix. Only a band with veteran stripes could master the powerful salvo “A Tired God Looks On”, which sets a blistering pace before crashing out into mathy noise that throws back to the aforementioned Schatzi, or the formidable bass rumble underpinning melancholic yet insistent guitar melodies à la post-punk in “My Roots Deep Within The Earth”. These are but two instances across a diverse album, and each song takes on a life of its own.

It bears repeating just how remarkable the music on The Eternal Black Rainbow is – an amalgamation that sounds quite unlike anything else around it, and a testament to the band’s creative process. FireWalkWithMe honor their origins, both musical and geographical, and do a stellar job of “keeping Austin weird”.

FireWalkWithMe is:
 Ricardo Mendez – guitars/vocals/songwriter
 Christian Kyle – guitars/backing vocals
 Jason Reece – drums
 Jason Westbrook – bass guitars

 1. This Is How It Ends Intro
2. A Tired God Looks On
 3. Before I Disappear
 4. Song About Death
 5. Ships of Antikythera
6. Still Life In Photography
7. My Roots Deep Within The Earth
8. Swallowed By The Sea
9. This Is How It Ends Outro

FireWalkWithMe – A Tired God Looks On

FireWalkWithMe – The Ascension

FireWalkWithMe links:
Band/Artist location – Austin Texas