Dope Default – Division

Dope Default – Division

DOPE DEFAULT – ”Division” (3 March 2022, self-release)

  1. Midnight Mass
  2. Future Without
  3. Duplicity
  4. Down To Pieces
  5. The Saint Of Killers
  6. So Far Away
  7. One More Time
  8. The Hand Of Midas
  9. Divided


Seven years after their formation, the Dope Default, have successfully released their third full-length work, entitled “Division”. The band has previously released two EPs, the “Nuclear Honeymoon” and “Tales from the Wasteland”, and 2 full-length albums, the “Ofrenda” in 2018 and the “Imprisoned” in 2019, with the latest being the record that solidified their place in the scene.

Now, should we examine their newest work, “Division”, in comparison with the previous or as a unique endeavor?

Fortunately, Dope Default saved me from making a decision like this since there is no question that the “Division” is a good album, no matter which way we examine it.

Dope Default’s third work marks a musical turn for the band towards more melodic territories while keeping their core and distinctive groove metal sound intact. Examples of this slight turn are the tracks “Duplicity” and “So Far Away”, with the first being, also, one the best songs of the record combining the exotic, oriental rhythmic and melodic patterns with the aggressive, groove metal sound of Dope Default.

One great thing with this album is that it is not a flat listening experience. As an outline, the sound can be described as groove metal inspired by bands like the Black Label Society, but Dope Default have taken care to add surprises to keep the listener hooked.

 Such an example is the opening song, “Midnight Mass”, that hits hard out of nowhere with heavy, low, gnarling riffs. There is, also, the song “Hand of Midas” that unites and blends the groove metal sound with the bluesy, heavy rock sound, making it the track to open a cold beer to.

Concluding, should you listen to the “Division”? Absolutely you should. The album has been out for over a month now, so don’t waste any more time and go check it out.

Review by Mr Athens 79

Dope Default links:
Band/Artist location – Thessaloniki, Greece
Facebook – You Tube – Soundcloud – Bandcamp – Merch – 
Twitter – Instagram – Apple – Spotify – Amazon – Deezer – bfanlink – Last Fm
Check our page for Dope Default