Norway’s prog metal masters COMMUNIC release new album ‘Hiding From The World‘ on 20th November on AFM Records.

Communic are one of the household names in the European Metal scene and have been so from the beginning. Their upcoming sixth album ‘Hiding From The World’ will be released on November 20, 2020. The musical style of COMMUNIC is rich in both emotional depth and musical broadness and includes many elements from various metal genres. Catchy vocal melodies, thrilling bass and guitar lines colliding with power, thrash, progressive and a touch of doom and groovy metal.

The music has a progressive touch, experimental yet easy to listen to, moody, mellow and emotional, it includes mix of influences from the 80’s and 90’s metal scene, but most of all it’s a mix of the different approach each member of the band has on the music, thus giving it the unique sound and feeling, that makes it hard for fans and media to compare COMMUNIC to just one other band.

In the beginning of 2019, Oddleif was starting to write and put together new material for their 6th album. When most of the ideas and sketches for the songs where ready, the band spent a long weekend at a cabin by the shore in a southern fjord in Norway, where they set up their gear and some basic recording equipment to arrange the songs together. Already here at this
remote place, away from distractions, the idea for the album title already emerged together with the core structure of the songs. By the end of the year, the guys went into Oddleif´s Stoneland Studio to record a pre-production of the album.

In the end of January 2020, Tor Atle started to record the drums in Mayhem Studio in Kristiansand, Norway. Shortly after this the world wide covid-19 pandemic breaks out and everything shuts down, and the recording process stops for a while. In the beginning of March 2020 the band started again to record the bass, guitars and vocals in Stoneland Studio getting everything ready for mixing. At this time Travis Smith agreed to create the artwork for the album, and works on completing his ideas. Lasse Lammert at LSD-Studio in Germany has been assigned to be in charge of the mixing and mastering. The title for the album ‘Hiding From The World’ fits into the time and state the world is in at the moment, but that was just coincidental.

Commented by Oddleif: ”The songs on this album is quite diverse, but true to the COMMUNIC style that we started out doing back in 2003. Long songs as we normally end up doing, only 7 songs in total and a short intro clocking in at over 60 minutes, that all holds the tension, emotions and dynamics that we like to do. There are some mellow and emotional, yet heavy songs, some really heavy songs, even some blastbeats, stuff that we have never have done before. A nice mix up of traditional COMMUNIC power and emotional depth.

“As for the lyrics and overal theme I had in mind during the writing of these songs, is dealing with what we leave behind as a legacy when we die. I wrote these songs with a feeling inside that my life could end tomorrow, this could be the last thing I leave behind as my legacy. Tomorrow I could be crushed by a drunk phonetexting truckdriver on my way to pick up my kids at school. Life is unpredictable and we don’t know what will happen around next corner. Well that sounds really drepressing, but that is where these songs are coming from and I think that feeling was captured throughout the songs and the stories on this album. And the artwork of Travis Smith just nails this feeling of hopelessness, overtaken by the earth and everything feels like it is out of reach or to overwhelming to comprehend, but still there is some trace of hope left. Maybe the most epic collections of songs that we ever have written!
“Now, the calendar says 2020, and it sounds almost like a science fiction movie from the 80’ties, but it is a fact. COMMUNIC survived since early 2003, and are still the same three members in the band today, as to the day the band was formed. That is something to be proud of. With 
COMMUNIC the Norwegian – no, the worldwide – metal scene still has an exciting and forward-looking name to remember.”

01. Plunder Of Thoughts
02. Hiding From The World
03. My Temple Of Pride              
04. Face In The Crowd
05. Born Without A Heart
06. Scavengers Await
07. Soon To Be
08. Forgotten

Oddleif Stensland (Vocals, Guitars), Erik Mortensen (Bass), Tor Atle Andersen (Drums)

Communic – Hiding From The World

Communic – My Temple Of Pride

Communic – Hiding From The World album teaser

Communic links:
Band/Artist location – Norway
WebsiteFacebook – You TubeSoundcloudBandcampMerch – 
TwitterAppleSpotifyAmazonDeezerGoogle PlayLast Fm