Blacklist 9

Blacklist 9

Hear the crushing new single, ‘Stand in Line’ taken from Blacklist 9’s upcoming full-length debut Mentally Ill, Legally Sane, due out March 22nd!

Blacklist 9 is a groove metal band from Southern California. The band was formed in 2013 by drummer Lonnie Silva (Black Sheep, Impelliteri), and his son, Kyle Silva. The father-and-son duo began writing material in their garage, and they quickly recruited some local musicians to fill out the remainder of the band.

In 2014, the band recorded their first demo entitled ‘Madness’ at Busy Signal Studios with producer Jerry Danielsen (Smile Empty Soul). The band performed dozens of gigs up and down the West Coast throughout 2014-2015, and they began building a name for themselves in the local scene.

In 2016, the band began writing new material however, Kyle and Lonnie soon realized they wanted to bring the band in a different direction than the other band members, which led to them parting ways. It was at this time, that the lineup was finalized with Graham Fletcher on vocals, and Ray Burke on bass.

In 2017, the band continued growing a local following and landed a spot supporting John 5 at the infamous Whiskey A Go Go in Los Angeles, CA. Shortly thereafter, the band got back to writing new material, and in 2017, they tracked another demo which they began sending out to labels, radio stations, and local concert promoters. The band secured airplay on several dozen college and internet radio stations. In early 2018, the band was picked to support Metalachi, and then their song ‘Mental Hostage’ was featured in USA Network TV show, Shooter. Shortly after, the band was called back to the Canyon Club to support Accept.

In the Summer of 2018, they once again entered the studio to complete a new album entitled Mentally Ill, Legally Sane with producer Jeff Collier at Something Something Studios. The album features eight groove-laden songs which tackle various social issues such as PTSD, addiction, and government greed. The message here is clear and concise, in that this band will stop at nothing to continue doing what they enjoy most – writing great songs, making new fans, and having fun while doing it!

Mentally Ill, Legally Sane will be released March 22nd of 2019 by Eclipse Records.

Blacklist 9 – Stand In Line

Blacklist 9 – Madness

Blacklist 9 links:

Band location – Southern California

Learn more about Blacklist 9 on their Facebook page

Watch the latest Blacklist 9 videos on You Tube

Listen to Blacklist 9 music on Soundcloud

Follow Blacklist 9 on their Twitter page

Buy Blacklist 9 music on Itunes

Listen to Blacklist 9 music on Spotify

Buy Blacklist 9 music on Amazon