UK Danger Money

UK Danger Money

Studio Album, released in 1979

Songs / Tracks Listing

Side One

  1. Danger Money (8:12)
    2. Rendezvous 6:02 (5:00)
    3. The Only Thing She Needs (7:53)

Side Two
1. Caesar’s Palace Blues (4:42)
2. Nothing To Lose (3:57)
3. Carrying No Cross (12:20)

Total Time: 42:02

Line-up / Musicians

– John Wetton / lead & backing vocals, bass, arranger & producer
– Eddie Jobson / keyboards (piano, organ, Moog), electric violin, arranger & producer
– Terry Bozzio / drums, percussion

With the jazzier based Bill Bruford and Allan Holdsworth leaving the band, remaining members Eddie Jobson and John Wetton recruited ex Frank Zappa drummer Terry Bozzio into the fold. The resulting album, 1979’s ‘Danger Money’ sees UK as a trio de force, a modern (then) version of ELP even. A complicated structured album, filled with excellent playing from three musicians at their very best.

Side one storms straight into the title track. ‘Danger Money’ a song about the life of a hit-man. With heavy synth work and distinctive Wetton vocals this song is a great opener. The dreamier ‘Rendezvous 6:02’ follows. It is a slower melodic ghost story with beautiful flowing piano work and an almost haunting middle section. on ‘The Only Thing She Needs’ Bozzio gets his turn to shine. Thunderous drumming beats its way along the hard, fast rhythm. Very complicated interplay between the trio make this an epic track.

‘Caesar’s Palace Blues’ opens side two, the track shows off Wetton’s lyric work with words not unlike the late 60’s early 70’s Lennon meanderings. Culminating into a thumping crescendo this track highlights all three members talents. The more commercial ‘Nothing To Lose’ is a cracking sing along tune with fantastic bass lines and a keyboard solos, but it does seem out of place on this album.  It was released as a single and charted at number 67 in the UK. The album’s final track is the twelve minute ‘Carrying No Cross’. This starts off with Jobson’s synth building and building until Wetton demands it all to “Stop!” Then we move slowly along until we are smacked in the face by the complicated, intelligent interplay of drums, bass, keyboard and violin as it moves through different time changes in spectacular style.

This album is by far a better album to its self titled predecessor. UK appear to be more solid as a trio than a four piece. This is a must have album that should be in your collection.


Peter Devine September 2015