UFO Obsession

UFO Obsession

Released in 1978

Track listing

Side one

  1. Only You Can Rock Me (Pete Way, Michael Schenker, Phil Mogg) – 4:08
  2. Pack It Up (And Go) (Way, Schenker, Mogg) – 3:14
  3. Arbory Hill (Schenker) – 1:10
  4. Ain’t No Baby (Mogg, Paul Raymond – originally Way, Mogg) – 3:58
  5. Lookin’ Out for No. 1 (Mogg, Raymond – originally Way, Mogg) – 4:34


Side two

  1. Hot ‘n’ Ready (Schenker, Mogg) – 3:16
  2. Cherry (Way, Mogg) – 3:34
  3. You Don’t Fool Me (Raymond, Andy Parker, Mogg – originally Way, Parker, Mogg) – 3:23
  4. Lookin’ Out for No. 1 (Reprise) (Schenker, Raymond) – 1:14
  5. One More for the Rodeo (Way, Mogg) – 3:45
  6. Born to Lose (Schenker, Mogg, Raymond – originally Schenker, Way, Mogg) – 3:31


The personel:

Phil Mogg – vocals
Michael Schenker – guitar, flute on Arbory Hill
Paul Raymond – rhythm guitar, keyboards, vocals
Pete Way – bass
Andy Parker – drums


‘Obsession’ was the last of the classic Schenker era UFO albums. Michael Schenker was an integral piece of UFO’s make-up, not just with regards to his amazing guitar playing, but also in the fact that his writing partnership with Phil Mogg produced many of the band’s core songs.

Album opener ‘Only You Can Rock Me’ is a classic UFO composition a mid-tempo hard rock number with a decent hook and a melodic chorus. This all changes on the punchy ‘Pack It Up And Go’, an absolutely electric track with Schenker injecting lead rips all over it while Andy Parker pounds out the beat with brutal precision and Phil Mogg giving one of his cleanest vocal performances. ‘Arbory Hill’ comes next and the pace is reduced to flute and acoustic guitar. Then we have the excellent ‘Ain’t No Baby’ which marches in your face with viciousness and hardness in typical UFO style. Looking Out For Number 1 ends side one and what a classy song to leave you wanting to turn over and hear more. Employing a string section to great effect, this track has the waving arms chorus that should have projected the band to greater heights. An outstanding with a perfect Schenker guitar solo to boot.

Side two rocks in with the lead guitar of Schenker singing to the listener. ‘Hot and Ready’ is all Schenker, it wouldn’t be out of place on any MSG album. ‘Cherry’ is UFO attempting to sound like The Who, it is a good song with its tempo changes and some great playing. ‘You Don’t Fool Me’ is another stomper of a track, pretty heavy and quite dark. The record calms down a touch with ‘Looking After Number 1 Reprise’ before we go to the brilliant ‘One More For the Rodeo’ this track has some great cowbell moments as well as the brilliant Schenker guitar solos. The final track ‘Born to Lose’ is a slower ballad with Mogg again at his best, this is my favourite track on the album. Schenker’s final solo is inspirational, almost a farewell to the listener.

Peter Devine September 2016