The Chronicles of Manimal and Samara (TCOMAS) will be releasing a new music video and single for “The Pied Piper” from their recently released album Trust No Leaders. Additionally, The Chronicles of Manimal and Samara are thrilled to announce that they have just signed a deal with Symphonic Distribution. Due to the excellent results of their new sophomore album, Trust No Leaders, which was originally released on July 1, 2022, fully independent, TCOMAS now have the support of Symphonic to extend the promotion of their new sophomore album. To coincide with this announcement, the prog/metal poets have chosen “The Pied Piper” as their album’s new focus track, which they will release as a music video and single on October 14, 2022 via Symphonic  — visit to pre-save.

While born in London in early 2020, The Chronicles of Manimal and Samara (TCOMAS), the origins of the duo are very diverse: Daphne Ang (Vocals, Piano, Keyboard) was born in Singapore, and Andrea Papi (Guitar, Bass, Vocals, Drum Programming) hails from Italy. Equally diverse are their raft of influences, most notably Tool, Kraftwerk, Jim Morrison and Devin Townsend. Since their inception in 2020, TCOMAS have established themselves as a formidable collaborative, breaking new ground in the way they combine progressive music, poetry, and visuals. Hailed as the most important British-based band of the decade (Ever Metal) and pioneers of a new form of expression through incorporating the performance of poetry in music (Right Chord, V13). Their debut album Full Spectrum, released February 2021, saw “Love in the Time of Pestilence” gracing several official Spotify playlists (Alternative Metal, Progressive Metal). With their latest offering, Trust No Leaders, the duo have further enhanced and refined their niche and innovation – Heavy Metal fused with literature and poetry (FemMetal).

Recorded between April and August 2021 at their studio in Camden Town, London, the record’s eleven songs weave their way through the history of heavy metal from the new wave of British metal of the present. Set against orchestral and cinematic soundscapes, the songs also pay tribute to non-Western musical traditions, including Native American and South American folk music, Vedic chants, and Indo-Persian classical music,. The lyrics and vocal performance bring together elements of contemporary poetry, Persian Classical poetry, theology, Jungian Psychology, and modern theater.

Elaborating on what initially inspired the record, the duo shared, “We wrote Trust No Leaders over the last national lockdown in the UK, which forced us to take a deep look at the current and grim state of affairs. The increasing chaos and uncertainty in the world fuelled the early creative direction of the album. The pandemic, the destruction of the natural world, new wars, rising prices, protests and uprisings, political upheaval and freak natural disasters that were happening around us provided the backdrop for writing the album. ‘Trust No Leaders’ is a personal journey that steered us through the anxiety of  these trying and scary times while also preparing the future and what it has in store for all of us, living in a world where our leaders cannot be trusted.”

“In this vein, we chose “The Pied Piper” as the album’s new focus track as it best embodies the roots of the album,” the duo comment. Titled after the medieval poem ‘The Pied Piper’, the rat-catcher of Hamelin, the song is about the ‘Rat Race of man’, and the endless, self-defeating pursuit that awaits for all who are lured into competing in it”, shared the duo. Created by the band’s graphic design and video production arm, TCOMAS Studio, the music video for “The Pied Piper” contains 3D and 2D animation and visuals inspired by the graphic novels and virtual reality games. The video presents a dystopian view of our progress-oriented, results-oriented society and the increasingly alienating and digital virtual world in which we live.

Commenting on the album’s new focus track, Andrea shares, “The song’s inspiration started with my own experience of early morning commutes on the tube in London, as well as observing the people around. This made me think of the slaves of Egypt, who struggled to construct the great pyramids without reward. This was the basis for the writing, composition and production of the video for The Pied Piper.”

Daphne adds: “The Pied Piper” is probably the darkest song in the album. It is narrated through the voice of ‘The Pied Piper’ who will lead the people to the slaughter. The words address the complex interaction of power, control and powerlessness in modern society. I drew many influences from the German political playwright Bertolt Brecht, particularly from his 1934 poem, “All of us or none” (Keiner Oder ale).

“The Pied Piper” joins previously released singles and music videos for “Count the Dead”, “The Prophet”, “Nothing but Dust”, “The Chefs Song”, “Shaman” and “Pound of Flesh” featured on the 11-track ‘Trust No Leaders’ album. Since the release of the album’s first single in October 2021 up until it’s July launch, the record has received widespread publicity and coverage through reviews, interviews, and features in media outlets, most notably Metal Temple, Ever Metal, VENTS Magazine, IDIOTEQ, Kvlt Magazine, V13, Luminous Dash, The Moshville Times, Turn Up the Volume, Demon Reports, Stormbringer, Ghost Cult Magazine, Knotfest, FemMetal – Goddesses Of Metal, Planet Mosh, Rock ‘N’ Load and more. Additionally, the record’s music videos have received many nominations and official selections and screenings at international film festivals, most notably Vaasa Wildlife Festival 2022 Xi International Nature Film Competition (‘Count the Dead’, Finalist, Video Art), Xposure International Photography & Film Festival 2022 (‘Count the Dead’, Official Selection, Short Film), Festival Internacional de Cinema Socioambiental 2022 (‘Count the Dead’, Official Selection, Short Film), and The Paus Premieres Festival (‘Shaman’).

Dubbed by TUTV! as “architects in sound and vision” for their vivid visual inventiveness in their videos and artwork, the pair are set to unveil more music videos from their new sophomore album. Their recent signing with global digital distributor, Symphonic will support TCOMAS’s efforts to cover new ground and extend the promotion of their new album through the release of 5 new music videos from previously unreleased tracks taken from the duo’s 11-track ‘Trust No Leaders’ album.

The Official Video and single for “The Pied Piper” will be out October 14, 2022 via Symphonic — visit to pre-save.

Trust No Leaders album is now available through Symphonic and can be streamed here.

The album is also available on CD and digital download — visit to purchase.



  1. Human Sacrifice
  2. The Prophet
  3. Pound of Flesh
  4. Shaman
  5. The Chefs Song
  6. The Pied Piper
  7. Nothing but Dust
  8. Count the Dead
  9. Smell of Your Rot
  10. Hypermetamorphosis
  11. Scum of the Land

The Chronicles of Manimal and Samara – The Pied Piper 14/10/22

The Chronicles of Manimal and Samara – Pound Of Flesh

The Chronicles of Manimal and Samara – SHAMAN

The Chronicles of Manimal and Samara – The Chefs Song

The Chronicles of Manimal and Samara – Nothing But Dust

The Chronicles of Manimal and Samara – The Prophet

The Chronicles of Manimal and Samara – Count the Dead

The Chronicles of Manimal and Samara – At The World’s End

The Chronicles of Manimal and Samara links:
Band/Artist location – London England
WebsiteFacebook – You TubeSoundcloud – 
Twitter – InstagramAppleSpotifyAmazonDeezer