Scenic Route to Alaska

Scenic Route to Alaska

Sceneic Route To Alaska release their new LP, “Time For Yourself”

This album traverses over a raging river of mixed emotions. From love songs to longing, contemplative angst and heartbreak, we take you on an introspective journey without making you question your entire existence…. unless you want to.

“Time For Yourself”, their sixth release was self-produced with Colin Stewart (New Pornographers, Dan Mangan, Yukon Blonde, Sleepy Sun) and recorded in two separate sessions.

We slept in the studio for the entire process and focused all of our energy and emotions into making the record as honest and approachable as possible.

Our song of the same name, “Time For Yourself,” is about breaking down old habits and stubborn barriers in order to show yourself some love and self-care. Listen on YouTube ✷ Spotify now.

“Time For Yourself” is a bit of an ode to ’90s garage rock with a pinch of grunge and finished off with a lifetime of listening to The Beatles. A borderline sassy rock and roll tune you’ll have stuck in your head on your way out the door.

Substance and accessibility. They’re often considered opposing forces when it comes to pop music, making it all the more impressive when a band like Scenic Route to Alaska so effortlessly delivers ample doses of both.

The heralded Edmonton-based indie pop trio – Trevor Mann on lead vocals and guitar, drummer Shea Connor, and bassist Murray Wood – have worked tirelessly scaling the summit of the Canadian and international music scenes. They dropped two acclaimed LPs – 2018’s Tough Luck and 2016’s Long Walk Home – that weave memorable melodies and catchy vocals through compelling, musically-rich arrangements and earned a slew of awards and accolades on their backs. They’ve toured relentlessly across North America, Europe, and Australia and have seen their global fanbase grow exponentially with each amplified chord.

Since taking time to write and workshop new material earlier in 2019, Scenic Route to Alaska have released a pair of singles “Give a Little” in October 2019 and “Daydreaming” in Feb 2020 and played a nearly sold out tour throughout Canada. These singles will soon be featured on a limited edition 7″ vinyl.

With its release on May 6th 2020, “Call Your Friends” is the first single of their upcoming album “Time For Yourself” (release date: Aug 19th). This song is the first in the direction of revisiting their roots with a more organic, unfiltered take on their now-signature sound – or, as Mann puts it, “a truer representation of what we do when we get together and make music.”

Despite the nearly non-stop touring and unwavering determination throughout their time together, the three musicians have enjoyed every step of the journey. That was especially the case with their packed 2019 hometown performance on the main stage of the world-renowned Edmonton Folk Music Festival – a definite career highlight thus far. They’ve also racked up handfuls of awards, including a SOCAN #1 distinction for the single “Love Keeps” and a Western Canadian Music Award for Best Rock Act.

The recordings effortlessly capture the excitement of the band’s live performance, where the energy is palpable and the fun contagious. Always locked in with a syncopation that can only stem from a long collective history, the boys bounce from ballads to bangers with ease, leaving a lasting impression on any kind of audience in front of them. The band is perhaps best defined through dichotomy: young but mature, curious but collected, accessible but substantial. Such balance is all too rare in this scene, but thankfully, Scenic Route to Alaska strikes it with a style all their own

Scenic Route to Alaska – Polorized

Scenic Route to Alaska – Closer

Scenic Route to Alaska – Daydreaming

Scenic Route to Alaska
Band/Artist location – Edmonton Alberta Canada
WebsiteFacebook – You TubeSoundcloudBandcampMerchReverbnation – Twitter –
Instagram – ItunesSpotifyAmazonDeezerGoogle PlayLast Fm