Philippe Petit & Friends

Philippe Petit & Friends

Philippe Petit is no stranger to the world of music – as co-founder of Strings Of Consciousness and with a large number of acclaimed releases to his name, Aagoo Records present the latest of his works.

‘On Top’ is the second album released as Philippe Petit & Friends, following up ‘Cordophony’. Ahead of the release, they are presenting the lead track ‘Black Dog’. This song features malleable vocals by Charlie Finke, ranging from David Sylvian-esque swooning to Peter Murphy’s cutting delivery and the raunchiness The Stranglers’ Hugh Cornwell. With Philippe Petit on electronics, Rafaelle Rinaudocontributes electric harp and Hervé Vincenti handles guitars and percussion.
This album was originally intended to become the third part in a trilogy originated by Strings Of Consciousness, the SOC collective broke up but Philippe continued inviting his friends, musicians and singers to collaborate with him – namely, the ones he felt were “On Top”.  
On the first track ‘The Hammer + The Compliant Man’, Philippe, Eugene S. Robinson and Hervé Vincenti give us a tense and at times tender narrative. This plays out like an old radio drama except it’s urgent and you feel somehow locked in.
‘On top of the Pyramid of the Sun in Teotihuacàn’ comes last on the album, it lives up to it’s title. Known to be the holy city of Teotihuacan (‘the place where the gods were created’), this is close to Mexico City, built between the 1st and 7th centuries A.D. In this track, time seems to slow to a crawl, it feels like a ‘peak’ moment – all clear and beautiful, but like any peak, it gets uncomfortable at times. While not without its harsh moments, ultimately this is a gorgeous, intimate and emotive album.
Petit’s new album should appeal to fans of Machinefabriek, Eugene S. Robinson and Lydia Lunch, a long-time collaborator of Petit’s, who also appears on this album. He has also collaborated with a massive amount of renowned artists, including Jarboe (Swans), Cindytalk, Faust, Murcof, Audrey Chen, Yannick Barman, and PAS, as well as Cosey Fanni Tutti (Throbbing Gristle), Edward Ka-Spel (Legendary Pink Dots), Graham Lewis (Wire), Barry Adamson, James Johnston (Gallon Drunk/Bad Seeds/Faust), and many others.

Philippe Petit is interested in soundtracks. Even if he creates original music, he’d rather be introduced as a “musical travel agent” than a composer. Since the early 2000s, he has been performing the world, playing festivals all over Europe, Canada, USA, Mexico, Australia & Asia.
“I like to move various glasses, pieces of wood, stones, or percussive objects, as well as taking advantage of vinyl material to fondle released sounds. I deal with electroacoustics because I rely on electricity/amplification to produce, manipulate and work on sound material, but I try my best to explore various genres and make sure that each of my album differs from the previous one, trying to avoid routine and surprising to my listeners,” explains Philippe Petit.
‘On Top’ will be released by Aagoo Records on May 4, but is already available for pre-order via Philippe Petit’s own Bandcamp.  

01. The Hammer + The Compliant Man
Eugene S. Robinson – vocals | Hervé Vincenti – electric guitar | Philippe Petit – synths, fuzzed strings, percs, electronics
02. Interlude
Loesha – vocals | Rafaelle Rinaudo – electric harp | Karim Tobbi – acoustic guitar
Lydwine Vanderhulst – strings | Philippe Petit – turntables, cymbalom, electronics
03. BaKalTag
Maja Jantar – vocals | Rafaelle Rinaudo – electric harp
Andy Diagram – trumpet | Philippe Petit – synths, strings, distortions, electronics
04. U & I
Jad Fair – vocals | Philippe Petit – organ, guitar, electronics | Paul Milhaud – guitar
05. [[[_petit_lou_]]] : Interlude II
Lucina Lou – Theremin | Philippe Petit = percussion, guitar
06. Black Dog
Charlie Finke – vocals | Rafaelle Rinaudo – electric harp | Hervé Vincenti – guitars, percussion | Philippe Petit – electronics
07. Charleton Sight
Seth Herbert Faergolzia – vocals | Rafaelle Rinaudo – electric harp 
Andy Diagram – trumpet | Philippe Petit – chains, synths, strings, percussion, electronics
08. F. T. C.
Lydia Lunch – vocals | Philippe Petit – cymbalom; electric psalterion, synths, electronics
09. On top of the Pyramid of the Sun in Teotihuacàn
Heike Aumüller – vocals Bela Emerson: cello | Hervé Vincenti – guitar | Nicolas Dick – e-bowed guitar | Philippe Petit: electronics 

Philippe Petit & Friends – The Hammer – The Complaint Man

Philippe Petit links:

Artist location – Marseilles France

Find more info about Philippe Petit on his Website

Learn more about Philippe Petit on his Facebook page

Listen to Philippe Petit music on his Soundcloud page

Listen to and buy Philippe Petit music on Bandcamp

Find info and links for Philippe Petit on his Reverbnation page

Follow Philippe Petit on his Twitter page

Buy Philippe Petit music on his Itunes page

Listen to Philippe Petit music on his Spotify page

Buy Philippe Petit music on Amazon

See more about Philippe Petit on Google Plus

Follow Philippe Petit on MySpace

Discover more about Philippe Petit at CD BABY

Find out more about Philippe Petit at Last Fm