NOO5E Blood Rose

NOO5E – Blood Rose

NOO5E – Blood Rose

  1. Death and the Angel
  2. Fear
  3. Useless
  4. Gratitude
  5. You
  6. Driving the Dead
  7. The Haunting

Hard rock/metal band NOO5E are living proof that rock music is alive and well and kicking arse in South Wales. The trio of Mick Roach (Vocals, bass), Chris Johns (guitar) and Alan Smith (drums) have truly delivered with their album “Blood Rose”.

The album kicks off with the Motorhead driven “Death and the Angel” This track gets straight into it and leaves you in no doubt that the band mean business. “Fear” is next with it’s opening bass line inviting you to rock. The track is full of hate and anger, Vocalist Mick Roach sings  “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but God can’t f**king touch me”….. pure brilliance.  “Useless” has a slightly different feel about it. It has a slow start that picks up pace and hits you in the guts. At times it is reminiscent of early Iron Maiden (“Strange World” from the debut album) as it returns to the slower pace and then attacks the listener again. Next up we have “Gratitude” guitarist Chris John hitting a riff that would make Tony Iommi proud, this is 4 minutes of metal that you will play over and over again.

Drummer Alan Smith gets to shine on the next track “You”. Great rhythm section work here on a track that would not be out of place on any Hawkwind album. “Driving the Dead” is a steady beat driven rocker with chilling guitar parts, that not only grabs you by the balls, but rips them off and rams them down your throat. Final track, “The Haunting” does what it says on the tin. Mick Roach’s distorted vocals amidst an eerie string section introduce us to the most hauntingly beautiful rock track I have ever heard. It is that good. What a track to end the album on.

“Blood Rose” is a brilliant album by a band that are going places. it is well worth a listen. I urge you to seek it out.

Pete Devine March 2017

Pete’s Rock News and

Find out more about NOO5E here