Darker Skies
Release: 7 April 2023

NACHTMUSE, the solo project from Geoff Hodsman, is preparing to unveil a new powerful symphonic offering. The forthcoming EP, Darker Skies, is due out April 7th, 2023. Alluring and compelling, NACHTMUSE’s distinctive take on symphonic metal delivers a dynamic and immersive sound.

Based out of Toronto, Ontario, the symphonic metal outfit strives to have a raw guitar driven quality and showcase the darker side of this metal subgenre. With a strong emphasis on heavy riffs, NACHTMUSE juxtapose heaviness against more ethereal elements. The first single “The Warning” embraces haunting realms with thundering instrumentation and soaring, operatic vocal leads. “The Ashen” deals with themes of generational trauma, of striving to not make the irreversible mistakes our parents made. “The Sublime” is a song of self-reliance and glimpsing the divine through artful creation. While “The Sunken” portrays someone realizing their substance abuse is ruining their relationships. The album wraps on “Candy Tree” a cover song, originally composed by the band ALL ABOUT EVE. This song seems to observe the spell drugs can hold upon troubled youth.

The Darker Skies EP was composed and recorded in the relatively short span of 6 months during the latter half of 2022. It features the same vocals of Maude Theberge and Jeff Mott and is intended to serve as a sequel to the full length album Solemn Songs Of Nightsky & Sea that was released at the start of 2022. It accordingly features the same elemental themes of the night sky, moon and water that dominated that previous release. For this EP Nathan Gross (AGE OF ATHENA, BLOOD OF INDIGO, HAVEN DREAM) has assisted with the orchestral component, giving a new sense of grandeur to the songs. All titles for the original songs start with ‘the’, this is intentional.

After for many years playing with bands in Toronto’s local death metal scene, involved with bands such as GRAVITATIONAL DISTORTION, ENVENOMATION, HUMAN COMPOST, VESICATION and BRAIN SPASM, Geoff wanted to pursue his passion for more melodic forms of metal music. This new venture led to the writing and release of the debut album Solemn Songs Of Nightsky & Sea in 2022.

Darker Skies Tracklist:
The Warning
The Ashen
The Sublime
The Sunken
Candy Tree

Geoff Hodsman

Featuring the vocals of Maude Theberge (SANGUINE GLACIALIS, GROWLER’S CHOIR) and Jeff Mott (HANDS OF DESPAIR, GROWLER’S CHOIR)


2017 Demo (2017)
“Under the Yoke” single (2021)
“Minor Kings” single (2021)
Solemn Songs Of Nightsky & Sea (2022)
Darker Skies (2023)

Nachtmuse – The Warning

Nachtmuse – Under The Yoke

Nachtmuse links:
Band/Artist location – Toronto, Ontario
FacebookYou TubeSoundcloudBandcampReverbnation
InstagramAppleSpotifyAmazonDeezerLinkTreeLast Fm