John Mayall Talk About That



John Mayall Talk About That


  1. Talk About That
  2. It’s Hard Going Up
  3. The Devil Must Be Laughing
  4. Gimme Some Of That Gumbo
  5. Goin’ Away Baby
  6. Cards On The Table
  7. I Didn’t Mean To Hurt You
  8. Don’t Deny Me
  9. Blue Midnight
  10. Across The County Line
  11. You Never Know

It has been a long time since I heard anything new from the legendary bluesman John Mayall, so when I was asked to review his latest album, I jumped at the chance.

“Talk About That” is the latest release from a man that has been there, seen that, done that and got the t-shirt. The album is released on Forty Below Records on 27th January 2017 and was co-produced by John Mayall and Forty Below Records’ president Eric Corne. The album also boasts the inclusion of guitar legend Joe Walsh guesting on two tracks (The Devil Must Be Laughing and Cards On The Table) in what Joe says is “A bucket-list item since 1970 to play with John Mayall.”

The album features eleven great tracks, 3 of which are covers, there’s Bettye Crutcher’s “It’s Hard Going Up,” bluesman Jimmy Rogers’ “Goin’ Away Baby,” and rocker Jerry Lynn Williams’ “Don’t Deny Me.” and sees Mayall returning with long-time band members Rocky Athas (guitar), Greg Rzab (bass), and Jay Davenport (drums). Although this will be the last time the quartet will be together as guitarist Rocky Athas will no longer be a part of the line-up and Mayall will continue as a trio.

The album kicks off with the title track and the opening line “I’m a good looking fella” Confidence indeed, and why not? The track has a soulful groove that makes you want to sway to the rhythm. We are then back to a more bluesy sound with “It’s Hard Going Up” before the beautiful easy blues of ” The Devil Must Be Laughing”, so laid back and classic. “Gimme Some Of That Gumbo” with its rasping horns and Little Feat like beat explodes to the ears quite magically. The sublime harmonica intro to”Goin’ Away Baby” takes you back to that blues era that is so dearly missed. We get the classic Bluesbreakers sound with “Cards On The Table”. The slower “I Didn’t Mean To Hurt You” shows Mayall at his vocal best and the softness of the keyboards just melts away on this one. “Don’t Deny Me” brings back the brass and shuffles along nicely. “Blue Midnight” is a melodic and classy number that moves along so smoothly, you’ll love it. “Across The County Line” is a fun, shake your hips rock ‘n’ roller of a track. The album ends with the sound of a classic blues piano riff and a brilliant sound of Mayall doing what he does best. “You Never Know” is as traditional ‘blues Mayall’ as you can get.

This is a great album, well worth a listen and worthy also of the legend that is John Mayall.

Pete Devine January 2017

Pete’s Rock News and Views