Genesis – Duke

Genesis – Duke

Studio album released 1979

Songs / Tracks Listing

Side one

1. Behind The Lines (5:43)
2. Duchess (6:25)
3. Guide Vocal (1:21)
4. Man Of Our Times (5:34)
5. Misunderstanding (3:13)
6. Heathaze (4:57)

Side two
1. Turn It On Again (3:46)
2. Alone Tonight (3:54)
3. Cul-De-Sac (5:06)
4. Please Don’t Ask (4:00)
5. Duke’s Travels (8:39)
6. Duke’s End (3:08)

Total Time: 55:46

After the departure of Steve Hackett before their previous album ‘…And Then There Were Three’ Genesis defined the three man line-up with an album that still captures the progesque experimental sound, yet hints at the more commercial routes to come, That album is Genesis Duke.

Each band member brought two songs each to the table for the band to work on. Phil Collins brought’ Please Don’t Ask’ and ‘Misunderstanding’, Tony Banks brought ‘Heathaze’ and ‘Cul-de-Sac’ and Mike Rutherford brought ‘Alone Tonight’ and ‘Man of Our Times’. Tony Banks has since stated that he regrets turning down Phil Collins’ ‘In the Air Tonight’ for the album. The rest of the songs were written together in rehearsals.

‘Duke’ was the first ‘new’ Genesis album that I bought and because of this, it will always be a special album for me. It is really two albums in one. The first being the Duke suite, the story of Albert (which the band would play as a whole on the subsequent tour) and the second being a collection of beautiful and mostly personal songs which ooze class and elegance.

‘Behind the Lines’ begins side one, it is a powerful introduction to the album, a fast paced slice of progressive rock, this blends into ‘Duchess’ it’s drum machine entrance pulling the listener in as it grows and flows into a wall of sound and crashing Tony Banks keyboards and haunting bass lines from Mike Rutherford. Relaying the story of stardom and falling from grace it is such a beautiful story. We then flow into ‘Guide Vocal’ Phil Collins’ voice is very tender here and almost apologetic. ‘Man of Our Times’ is next. This track has Collins sounding quite scary and desperate. The drums here are Collins at his very best. Then we have ‘Misunderstanding’ probably the most pop-like song on the album, this proved to be quite a hit for the band. Side one ends with the Tony Banks written ‘Heathaze’ A beautiful track to end the side with.

Side two is opened by the huge hit ‘Turn it on Again’ A great pop song that still rocks a little. Then we have ‘Alone Tonight’ Rutherford showing what was to come with the likes of the Mike and the Mechanics. Then ‘Cul-de-sac’ a keyboard driven number with a superb melody. Phil Collins wears his heart on his sleeve on the track ‘Please Don’t Ask’ a song so personally sad that you just want to give him a hug and tell him it will be alright, The last two tracks are the flawless ‘Duke’s Travels’ and ‘Duke’s End’. Simply amazing. The band are so tight here, the track picks up speed and thunders along with clever changes complicated playing. As ‘Duke’s Travels’ is ending Collins re-sings the words to ‘Guide Vocal’ and adds so much to this already wonderful track. ‘Duke’s End’ finishes the album in such a way that it is reminiscent of an exhausted engine cooling down and coming to a stop.

Pete Devine September 2016