External is an eclectic metal act based in Parkano/Tampere, Finland. Having their roots in traditional thrash metal, External have since abandoned the idea of genre boundaries and are drifting towards more diverse and progressive spheres. These young musicians approach music with open minds and the greatest of passion. Now in 2018, they are ready to share their debut album with like-minded, adventurous listeners.

Previously External have released a few notably thrash-influenced demos and singles. Their first full-length album, ”The Blurry Horizon”, is a diverse musical journey with a relatively wide scale of influences. While having a large gap between the musical extremities and different moods, the album still maintains a certain level of coherency by using repeated motifs throughout. Partially exploring somewhat progressive and perhaps complex spheres, the song material still doesn’t sacrifice accessibility, making it enjoyable for many kinds of listeners.

Lyrically the album discusses human nature in the modern digital age – our relationship with phenomena such as social media and artificial intelligence. Despite the obvious benefits of these things, when digging deeper to the subject, some definite ugly sides are revealed. Whereas technology is moving fast forward, that might not be the case for humanity as a species.

Release date: July 28th 2018
Label: Self published


1. The Escapist (4:25) Music & lyrics by Julius Lehtonen
2. I Through Eyes Can See (4:00) Music by Aleksi Haukkaluoma w/ Julius Lehtonen, Rasmus Ruuttila Lyrics by Aleksi Haukkaluoma
3. Parasight (6:36) Music by Julius Lehtonen w/ Aleksi Haukkaluoma Lyrics by Julius Lehtonen
4. Rusting Out (8:35) Music by Julius Lehtonen w/ Aleksi Haukkaluoma Lyrics by Julius Lehtonen
5. Slave of One’s Own Creation (6:07) Music & lyrics by Julius Lehtonen
6. The Beautiful Void (6:56) Music by Julius Lehtonen w/ Aleksi Haukkaluoma Lyrics by Julius Lehtonen

Aleksi Haukkaluoma – vocals and guitar
Julius Lehtonen – drums, programming, minor guitar and backing growls
Samuel Järvinen – bass
Henri Kymäläinen – minor guitar
Anna Lampela – additional vocals
Elias Nieminen – orchestral arrangements and programming
Mikko Tuovinen – additional synth production


External – Rusting Out

External – Slave of One’s Own Creation

External links:

Band location – Parkano/Tampere, Finland

Learn more about External on their Facebook page

Watch the latest External videos on You Tube

Listen to External music on Soundcloud

Follow External on their Instagram page

Buy External music on Itunes

Listen to External music on Spotify

Buy External music on Amazon

See more about External on Google Play