Duncan Evans

Duncan Evans / Wilderness Hymnal
Until Liars Fear You
Trepanation Recordings
Release: 5 November 2021

Stolen fire, flickering stars, dark water in the well.

We long to escape the simmering pall of uncertainty. To let go of how the past has marked us and to avoid freezing, deer-like, at our fear of what might come next.
That is where this split record by DUNCAN EVANS and WILDERNESS HYMNAL opens.
Until Liars Fear You is an album about overcoming violence, and escaping both grief from the past and fear of the future to instead nurture the silver linings of hope and redemption.
Snuff out those blazing stars, press purple tales in your memoirs – wait ‘til liars fear you, wait for love to hear you
Until Liars Fear You will be released on CD, cassette and digital download formats via Trepanation Recordings on November 5th 2021.

About Wilderness Hymnal: –

Born in Gibraltar to British-Venezuelan parents, Javier Wallis is hard to place at the best of times. A singer and multi-instrumentalist, his work as Wilderness Hymnal fuses elements of European folk, drone, post-metal, chamber music and glacial electronics into a seamless psychedelic whole. This restless and irreverent approach to genre finds him most at home in the hinterland of atmospheric heavy music shared by Chelsea Wolfe, Grails and Ulver. He is now based in Utrecht, the Netherlands, and his music has received support from tastemakers including Mary Anne Hobbs & Stuart Maconie (BBC Radio), Simon Raymonde (Bella Union) and Uncut Magazine.
Connect with Wilderness Hymnal: –

About Duncan Evans: – 

Duncan Evans creates dark folk / post-punk melancholy music that has been compared to the work of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Wovenhand and Leonard Cohen. A former member of black metal band A Forest Of Stars, he has released two critically acclaimed albums as a solo artist. Evans has performed across the UK and Europe, including at shows with Empyrium and Dornenreich and as a guest with Crowhurst.
Connect with Duncan Evans: –
Wilderness Hymnal: –
Javier Wallis – vocals, keyboards, piano, dulcimer, arrangements, programming, production.

Michael Peter Kelly – electric guitar, bass guitar.
Noah Eamon – violin.
Mirthe de Jonge – cello.
John Simm – drums and percussion (I Buried My Teeth).
Melle Berendsen – backing vocals (I Buried My Teeth).
Nick Duke – bass guitar (Old Dogs).
Gydo Keijzer – drums (Old Dogs).
Dauwpunt – production, mixing (The Hunter, Old Dogs).
Joe Garcia – production, mixing (I Buried My Teeth).
Duncan Evans: – 
Duncan Evans – vocals, guitars, synths, bass guitar, programming, production, mixing
Phil Wilcox – vocals on “The Stars (No Exit part 2)”
Duncan Evans / Wilderness Hymnal: –
“Three Tempers”: Javier Wallis – vocals, synths, keyboards; Duncan Evans – guitars, bass guitar, mixing; Mirthe de Jonge – cello; Kev Reid – snare drum
 Artwork by Stephen Wilson (
Mastered by James Plotkin / Plotkinworks

Duncan Evans – Time

Duncan Evans – Bring Your Shoulder

Duncan Evans links:
Band/Artist location – Leeds England
WebsiteFacebookBandcampMerchTwitter – Instagram –
AppleSpotifyAmazonDeezerGoogle Play