Cousin Betty

Golden Robot Records
Release: 15 October 2021

COUSIN BETTY release new EP ‘Overs’, out now on Golden Robot Records.
Check out the video for ‘New Dimensions’ here:
After recently releasing a brand new single and video for Desert Rock scorcher ‘New Dimensions’, COUSIN BETTY return with a brand new 4 Track EP Overs, which is out today digitally via Golden Robot Records. 
Overs is the latest offering from Sydney’s COUSIN BETTY. Following the success of their debut EP Left and the success of singles ‘Drone’, ‘Tape Hiss’ and ‘AWOL’, this EP sits in the happy middle ground of a band finding its way from the solo project of guitarist Damien Stofka, to the collective of Sydney stalwarts that now complete the band’s physical line-up. 

Featuring members of Nitocris, Madame Fatale, Death Mattel, LITTER and Spurs for Jesus(and Lime Spiders on this EP), the future seems bright for this band whose roots in garage psyche are far less apparent in their broader set than this EP. 

If you like songs about cults, voodoo magic and witches set to R-O-C-K rock, look no further. 

Let’s take a deeper look at the tracks:  

‘Laika’ is a lockdown collab between Melbourne mates Pat Walker (Farewell Horizontal) &David Lees (All of the Dirt all at Once). Files were sent back and forth interstate, resulting in a weird instrumental which perfectly captured the mood of the time.

‘New Dimensions’ is an exploration and analysis of the diabolical sci-fi death cult Heaven’s Gate.

‘Voodoo Vibe’ Inspired by the James Bond Movie Live and Let Die, ‘Voodoo Vibe’ sounds like the walking dead take a rollicking romp through the Caribbean.

Bass Witch The sequel to Bass Queen, ‘Bass Witch’ is a fantasy about a kick arse bass player.

Listen/Buy ‘Overs’ HERE

Damien Stofka is a renowned guitarist and songwriter who has created riffs and written songs for Molten Universe, Death Mattel, LITTER and various other projects for the last 15 years. Less interested in a standard line-up, the logistics required to be in a functioning band and inspired by the  Desert Sessions, he spent his downtime compiling albums’ worth of material with contributing artists and performers he liked.

From these sessions, micro-bands would form to present these songs live; touring with bands such as The Psychotic Turnbuckles, Doc Neeson and The Lime Spiders – having also used their rhythm section to record with. While the recordings have featured several musicians, the core live line-up has comprised of frontman Matt Downey (Death Mattel) and rhythm sections comprised of Pat Walker (Ohms, Methusela), Tony Bambach (Lime Spiders, Aberration), Ged & Tom Corben (Lime Spiders) and Chris Drane (Cash Savage, Cherrywood). The line ups and shows have varied for each tour to include a DJ, visuals and themed stage sets.

Cousin Betty – D

Cousin Betty – Drone

Cousin Betty links: