The idea for symphonic metal band Arion was hatched in the fall of 2011 in the famed music school Sibelius Lukio in Helsinki, where drummer Topias Kupiainen and keyboardist Arttu Vauhkonen got together with guitar whiz kid Iivo Kaipainen. In short order, the trio found bass player Georgi Velinov and vocalist Viljami Holopainen to round out the band. Musically astonishingly accomplished, the newcomers raised some serious waves right off the bat in January 2013 when they debuted their debut song ‘Lost’, a symphonic metal gem, on television, participating in Finnish television’s UMK song contest.

Soon enough the 17–18 year old teen prodigies’ exceptionally impressive musical talent caught the attention of Mr. Riku Pääkkönen, the owner of Ranka Kustannus and the mastermind behind the overnight success stories of Children Of Bodom, Nightwish, Sonata Arctica and several others. In May 2013 Arion signed a recording deal with Ranka and entered the studio to record their debut EP ‘New Dawn’. ‘New Dawn’ was released in November the same year to critical acclaim, while the band was already forging one of the most jaw-dropping metal debuts in Finland ever, ‘Last Of Us’.

There’s probably no other nation as vigilant for melodic metal music as Japan, where the love for beauty and aesthetics has blanketed all sorts of art for millennia. The Japanese are famous for their appetite for power metal, so, as crazy as it might sound, it shouldn’t even surprise anyone that Arion played their first concerts in Tokyo and Nagoya already before releasing their debut album. Ergo, it’s only fitting that Arion became one of those ultra-rare European artists whose debut album was released in Japan before its domestic release. Grandiose yet heartfelt, ‘Last Of Us’ still stands as a one of a kind jewel in its genre, an album that hasn’t lost one iota of its splendour since the day of release in July 2014.

A year later, in August 2015, singer Viljami Holopainen amicably left the band stating that his heart lies in other kind of music, and the band announced their new singer, Lassi Vääränen. In March 2016 Vääränen’s mettle was tested and proven worthy with his recording debut as a member of Arion on the explosive duet ‘At The Break Of Dawn’ with Elize Ryd of Amaranthe fame. To date ‘At The Break Of Dawn’ still is in heavy radio rotation in the nationwide Finnish Radio Rock and stands as the most streamed Arion song across all digital platforms.

After three more powerhouse singles; the thought-provoking ‘Unforgivable’, the heartrending ballad ‘Through Your Falling Tears’ and the clarion call ‘No One Stands In My Way’, it bring us now to the brink of release of Arion’s sophomore album “Life Is Not Beautiful”. And as potent the singles quadrilogy is, ‘Life Is Not Beautiful’ is much more than a hit singles compilation. Crafted every bit as meticulously as its predecessor, ‘Life Is Not Beautiful’ is Arion’s declaration of independence. On their debut, largely guided by their kind colleagues Matias Kupiainen (Stratovarius) and Jani Liimatainen (The Dark Element, Cain’s Offering), Arion now proudly demonstrate the next level in their musical progress and band leader Iivo Kaipainen’s newly found lyrical prowess.

 Arion are not the curiosity of a band of green-horned teenager prodigies anymore. Having faced just the right amount of adversity to gel as a band and improved in leaps and bounds, Arion are not just able – they’re ready and raring to go!

ARION’s second single and video for ‘At The Break Of Dawn’ are out now and feature Elize Ryd. This is the second track to be released from their forthcoming album ‘Life Is Not Beautiful’ which is due out on October 19th

01. The End Of The Fall
02. No One Stands In My Way
03. At The Break Of Dawn (feat. Elize Ryd)
04. The Last Sacrifice
05. Through Your Falling Tears
06. Unforgivable
07. Punish You
08. Life Is Not Beautiful
09. Last One Falls
10. Last Of Us (2018) – bonus track on Digipak
11. Seven (2018) – bonus track on Digipak
12. I Am The Storm (2018) – bonus track on Digipak

Lassi Vääränen- Vocals, Iivo Kaipainen – Guitars, Arttu Vauhkonen – Keyboards, Gege Velinov – Bass, Topias Kupiainen – Drums

Arion – At The Break Of Dawn (feat. Elize Ryd)

Arion – Unforgivable

Arion links:

Band location – Helsinki Finland

Learn more about Arion on their Facebook page

Watch the latest Arion videos on their You Tube channel

Follow Arion on their Twitter page

Follow Arion on their Instagram page

Buy Arion music on their Itunes page

Listen to Arion music on their Spotify page

Buy Arion music on Amazon

See more about Arion on Google Play

Find out more about Arion at Last Fm